Alaska Knife Laws. The Last Frontier.

Alaska is a Castle Doctrine state with a 'stand your ground' law. Here, carrying a knife and a gun is not an option, it's survival But what knives can you carry?

If there's one place on earth where carrying a knife should be made mandatory, it's Alaska. Aptly named 'The Last Frontier’, it's the home to boundless tracts of open spaces, dense ancient forests, towering mountains, and rippling rivers filled with salmons. This untamed beauty is untouched, unspoiled, wild, and rugged to the core. Alaska's woodlands offer an unspoiled experience of North America's wildlife. It's the home to grizzly bears, bison, soaring eagles, caribou, ..... and an estimated 7000 to 11,000 wolves. This is not your fun backpacking destination. Here, everything comes down to survival - and coexistence with nature. Here, a fixed blade knife like a Bowie, and a gun are often a need, not a choice.

Understand Self Defense

Alaska is a Castle Doctrine state with a 'stand your ground' law. This basically means a person is allowed to use deadly force at his residence or workplace without trying to retreat when faced with imminent danger.

IMPORTANT TO KNOW: Some seem to believe that stand your ground” laws mean absolute protection in a self-defense scenario. No, they don’t. If you are guilty of provoking a confrontation on your property that escalates into a deadly force scenario, then the 'stand your ground' law will not protect you.


What Alaska Knife Laws Say

The knife laws of The Last Frontier can be confusing with all the jargon and cryptic terms. But when you roll them down in plain English, you'll see Alaska has extremely knife-friendly laws.


Which knives can you own?

You can own just about any knife you want as long as you're 21 years or older. Alaska is a haven for knife lovers. Maybe not be a good reason to move to Alaska but know if you're there for a while to soak in the untamed nature, know you can own any switchblade, fixed blade knife, or folder. What about ax and machetes? Yes, them bad boys too.

Since Alaska has a Castle Doctrine state with a 'stand your ground' law, it has set the bar high for owning knives and firearms. The state says:

"A well-regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The individual right to keep and bear arms shall not be denied or infringed by the State or a political subdivision of the State."

What Knives Can You Open And Conceal Carry?

Unlike most states in the U.S.A., Alaska does not make a distinction between owing and carrying. As long you're 21+, you can legally carry any knife you want. What about concealed carry? Concealed carry is not an issue for anyone over the age of 21.

Carry Restrictions in Alaska: Those below 21 years of age, may not carry a concealed deadly weapon like gravity or switchblade knives.

Restrictions on sell and transfer: It is illegal to sell or transfer an automatic knife or a gravity knife to a minor under 18 years of age without the prior written consent of his or her parent or guardian per § 11.61.210.